Six faculty members to be applauded for their outstanding teaching

April 23, 2013

Six members of the faculty will be honored with awards for outstanding undergraduate teaching at a ceremony on Monday, April 29 at 5 p.m. in the Presidents Room of Woolsey Hall, corner of Grove and College streets. The event is open to members of the Yale community.

The teachers were nominated by their students for their respective awards, which will be presented by Yale College Dean Mary Miller. The Teaching, Learning, and Advising Committee selected the winners from among the nominees.

This winners of this year’s teaching prizes are:

Tamar S. Gendler, the Vincent J. Scully Professor of Philosophy and professor of psychology and cognitive science — The Yale College-Sidonie Miskimin Clauss ’75 Prize for Excellence in the Humanities;

Kathryn Lofton, professor of religious studies, American studies, history, and divinity — the Sarai Ribicoff ’79 Award for the Encouragement of Teaching at Yale College;

Deborah Davis, professor of sociology — the Lex Hixon ’63 Prize for Excellence in the Social Sciences;

Eric Dufresne, associate professor of mechanical engineering and materials science, chemical and environmental engineering, and physics and cell biology, who also directs the Center for Engineering Innovation & Design — the Dylan Hixon ’88 Prize for Teaching Excellence in the Natural Sciences;

John Bryan Starr, lecturer in political science — the Richard H. Brodhead ’68 Prize for Excellence by Non-Ladder Faculty; and

William D. Nordhaus, Sterling Professor of Economics and professor at the School of Forestry & Environmental Studies — the Harwood F. Byrnes/Richard B. Sewall Teaching Prize for “the teacher who has given the most time, energy and effective effort to help undergraduate students.”

More about the prizewinners will appear next month in YaleNews. 

External link: